World Match Racing Tour.

ISAF Special Event

Royal Bermuda Yacht Club
Hamilton, Bermuda
07 - 13 Oct, 2013
International One Design

Event results

Reigning Champion

Johnie Berntsson (SWE) Stena Sailing Team wins the Argo Group Gold Cup 2014

Johnie Berntsson (SWE) Stena Sailing Team defeated Eric Monnin (SUI) Swiss Match Race Team 3-1 in the final

Past Champions

2014 Johnie Berntsson (SWE/Stena Sailing Team)
2013 Franceso Bruni (ITA/Luna Rossa)
2012 Taylor Canfield (ISV/Canfield Racing)
2011 Torvar Mirsky (AUS/The Wave Muscat)
2010 Ben Ainslie (GBR/TEAMORIGIN)
2009 Ben Ainslie (GBR/TEAMORIGIN)
2008 Johnie Berntsson (SWE/Berntsson Sailing Team)
2007 Mathieu Richard (FRA/French Match Racing Team)
2006 Ian Williams (GBR)
2005 James Spithill (AUS; not part of World Tour)
2004 Russell Coutts/NZL (defeated James Spithill/AUS, 2-1)
2003 Peter Gilmour/AUS (defeated Chris Dickson/NZL, 3-2)
2002 Jesper Radich/DEN (defeated Jes Gram-Hansen/DEN, 3-1)
2001 Peter Holmberg/ISV (defeated Gavin Brady/NZL)
2000 Russell Coutts/NZL (defeated Chris Dickson/NZL)

Event Website -
Notice of Race - click here to download

The King Edward VII Gold Cup is the oldest match-racing trophy in the world for competition involving one-design yachts. It was given at the Tri-Centenary Regatta at Jamestown, Virginia, in 1907 by King Edward VII in commemoration of the 300th Anniversary of the first permanent settlement in America. C. Sherman Hoyt won the regatta and was the first to accept the now historic cup.

After three decades of holding the Cup, Mr. Hoyt gave it to the Royal Bermuda Yacht Club and proposed a regular one-on-one match-race series in 6-Meter yachts. In his letter he expressed the propriety of “my returning a British Royal trophy to the custody of your club, with its long record of clean sportsmanship and keenly contested races between your Bermuda yachts and ours of Long Island Sound, and elsewhere...” The first winner of the Cup in its new format was the celebrated Briggs Cunningham, who was also the first skipper to win the America’s Cup in a 12-Meter.

In the post-war years, the Club placed the Cup in competition in 1956 for match-racing in yachts of the International One Design Class. Bert Darrell had the honor of being first to defend the Cup in this class and won it a total of six times.

By winning his seventh championship in 2004, Russell Coutts surpassed Darrell to become the event’s all-time winner.

Through the years Bermuda has won the Cup 21 times, the United States 17 times, New Zealand 10 times, Australia 5 times, the United Kingdom three times, and in 2002 Denmark claimed the King Edward VII Gold Cup for the first time.

Qualifying event to Argo Group Gold Cup
Series 1 - 
Bermuda Match Racing Championship - TBC (1 Qualifying team)
Series 2
Knickerbocker Cup - 28 Aug - 1 Sept 2013 (1 Qualifying team)
Series 3 - Detroit Cup - 
21-25 Aug (1 Qualifying team)

Videos from Argo Group Gold Cup

Images from Argo Group Gold Cup

Go to the Image Gallery