World Match Racing Tour. ALPARI

ISAF Special Event

  • Quarter Final View all results M1 M2 M3 M4 M5
    Björn Hansen
    Hansen Sailing Team
    0 0 0 0 0
    Johnie Berntsson
    Stena Sailing Team
    1 0 0 0 0
  • Quarter Final View all results M1 M2 M3 M4 M5
    Eric Monnin
    Swiss Match Race Team
    1 0 0 0 0
    Pierre Antoine Morvan
    Vannes Agglo Sailing Team
    0 0 0 0 0
  • Quarter Final View all results M1 M2 M3 M4 M5
    Staffan Lindberg
    Alandia Sailing Team
    0 0 0 0 0
    Taylor Canfield
    US One
    1 0 0 0 0
  • Quarter Final View all results M1 M2 M3 M4 M5
    Ian Williams
    GAC Pindar
    1 0 0 0 0
    Marek Stanczyk
    Henri Lloyd Rainmaker Racing
    0 0 0 0 0
Royal Bermuda Yacht Club
Hamilton, Bermuda
01 - 07 Oct, 2012
International One Design

Event results

Reigning Champion

Francesco Bruni (ITA) Luna Rossa wins the Argo Group Gold Cup 2013

Francesco Bruni (ITA) Luna Rossa defeated Ben Ainslie (GBR) Ben Ainslie Racing Team 3-2 in the final

Past Champions

2013 Franceso Bruni (ITA/Luna Rossa)
2012 Taylor Canfield (ISV/Canfield Racing)
2011 Torvar Mirsky (AUS/The Wave Muscat)
2010 Ben Ainslie (GBR/TEAMORIGIN)
2009 Ben Ainslie (GBR/TEAMORIGIN)
2008 Johnie Berntsson (SWE/Berntsson Sailing Team)
2007 Mathieu Richard (FRA/French Match Racing Team)
2006 Ian Williams (GBR)
2005 James Spithill (AUS; not part of World Tour)
2004 Russell Coutts/NZL (defeated James Spithill/AUS, 2-1)
2003 Peter Gilmour/AUS (defeated Chris Dickson/NZL, 3-2)
2002 Jesper Radich/DEN (defeated Jes Gram-Hansen/DEN, 3-1)
2001 Peter Holmberg/ISV (defeated Gavin Brady/NZL)
2000 Russell Coutts/NZL (defeated Chris Dickson/NZL)

The King Edward VII Gold Cup is the oldest match-racing trophy in the world for competition involving one-design yachts. It was given at the Tri-Centenary Regatta at Jamestown, Virginia, in 1907 by King Edward VII in commemoration of the 300th Anniversary of the first permanent settlement in America. C. Sherman Hoyt won the regatta and was the first to accept the now historic cup.

After three decades of holding the Cup, Mr. Hoyt gave it to the Royal Bermuda Yacht Club and proposed a regular one-on-one match-race series in 6-Meter yachts. In his letter he expressed the propriety of “my returning a British Royal trophy to the custody of your club, with its long record of clean sportsmanship and keenly contested races between your Bermuda yachts and ours of Long Island Sound, and elsewhere...” The first winner of the Cup in its new format was the celebrated Briggs Cunningham, who was also the first skipper to win the America’s Cup in a 12-Meter.

In the post-war years, the Club placed the Cup in competition in 1956 for match-racing in yachts of the International One Design Class. Bert Darrell had the honor of being first to defend the Cup in this class and won it a total of six times.

By winning his seventh championship in 2004, Russell Coutts surpassed Darrell to become the event’s all-time winner.

Through the years Bermuda has won the Cup 21 times, the United States 17 times, New Zealand 10 times, Australia 5 times, the United Kingdom three times, and in 2002 Denmark claimed the King Edward VII Gold Cup for the first time.

Videos from Argo Group Gold Cup

Images from Argo Group Gold Cup

Go to the Image Gallery