|Qualifying Round - GROUP 2 - Flight 1 View all results|
|M1||Adam Minoprio BlackMatch||0||vs||0||Björn Hansen Nautiska Racing|
|M4||Chris Steele 36 Below Racing||0||vs||0||Keith Swinton Black Swan Racing|
|M5||Nicolai Sehested Trefor Match Racing||0||vs||0||Reuben Corbett Corbett Racing|
|M7||Francesco Bruni Artemis Racing||0||vs||0||Taylor Canfield US One|
|Qualifying Round - GROUP 2 - Flight 2 View all results|
|M10||Björn Hansen Nautiska Racing||0||vs||0||Chris Steele 36 Below Racing|
|M12||Reuben Corbett Corbett Racing||0||vs||0||Taylor Canfield US One|
|M14||Francesco Bruni Artemis Racing||0||vs||0||Nicolai Sehested Trefor Match Racing|
|M15||Adam Minoprio BlackMatch||0||vs||0||Keith Swinton Black Swan Racing|
|Qualifying Round - GROUP 2 - Flight 3 View all results|
|M17||Nicolai Sehested Trefor Match Racing||0||vs||0||Taylor Canfield US One|
|M19||Adam Minoprio BlackMatch||0||vs||0||Chris Steele 36 Below Racing|
|M21||Francesco Bruni Artemis Racing||0||vs||0||Reuben Corbett Corbett Racing|
|M23||Björn Hansen Nautiska Racing||0||vs||0||Keith Swinton Black Swan Racing|
|Qualifying Round - GROUP 2 - Flight 4 View all results|
|M25||Adam Minoprio BlackMatch||0||vs||0||Nicolai Sehested Trefor Match Racing|
|M28||Chris Steele 36 Below Racing||0||vs||0||Reuben Corbett Corbett Racing|
|M30||Francesco Bruni Artemis Racing||0||vs||0||Keith Swinton Black Swan Racing|
|M32||Björn Hansen Nautiska Racing||0||vs||0||Taylor Canfield US One|
|Qualifying Round - GROUP 2 - Flight 5 View all results|
|M33||Adam Minoprio BlackMatch||0||vs||0||Francesco Bruni Artemis Racing|
|M36||Björn Hansen Nautiska Racing||0||vs||0||Reuben Corbett Corbett Racing|
|M38||Keith Swinton Black Swan Racing||0||vs||0||Taylor Canfield US One|
|M40||Chris Steele 36 Below Racing||0||vs||0||Nicolai Sehested Trefor Match Racing|
|Qualifying Round - GROUP 2 - Flight 6 View all results|
|M41||Keith Swinton Black Swan Racing||0||vs||0||Reuben Corbett Corbett Racing|
|M44||Björn Hansen Nautiska Racing||0||vs||0||Nicolai Sehested Trefor Match Racing|
|M45||Adam Minoprio BlackMatch||0||vs||0||Taylor Canfield US One|
|M47||Chris Steele 36 Below Racing||0||vs||0||Francesco Bruni Artemis Racing|
|Qualifying Round - GROUP 2 - Flight 7 View all results|
|M49||Keith Swinton Black Swan Racing||0||vs||0||Nicolai Sehested Trefor Match Racing|
|M51||Björn Hansen Nautiska Racing||0||vs||0||Francesco Bruni Artemis Racing|
|M54||Adam Minoprio BlackMatch||0||vs||0||Reuben Corbett Corbett Racing|
|M55||Chris Steele 36 Below Racing||0||vs||0||Taylor Canfield US One|
|Qualifying Round - GROUP 1 - Flight 1 View all results|
|M2||Blythe Walker Team RenRE||0||vs||0||Ian Williams GAC Pindar|
|M3||Johnie Berntsson Stena Sailing Team||0||vs||0||Phil Robertson WAKA Racing|
|M6||Chris Poole Riptide Racing||0||vs||0||Eric Monnin Team SailBox|
|M8||Dean Barker SoftBank Japan||0||vs||0||Joachim Aschenbrenner Aschenbrenner Racing Team|
|Qualifying Round - GROUP 1 - Flight 2 View all results|
|M9||Ian Williams GAC Pindar||0||vs||0||Phil Robertson WAKA Racing|
|M11||Eric Monnin Team SailBox||0||vs||0||Joachim Aschenbrenner Aschenbrenner Racing Team|
|M13||Chris Poole Riptide Racing||0||vs||0||Dean Barker SoftBank Japan|
|M16||Blythe Walker Team RenRE||0||vs||0||Johnie Berntsson Stena Sailing Team|
|Qualifying Round - GROUP 1 - Flight 3 View all results|
|M18||Chris Poole Riptide Racing||0||vs||0||Joachim Aschenbrenner Aschenbrenner Racing Team|
|M20||Blythe Walker Team RenRE||0||vs||0||Phil Robertson WAKA Racing|
|M22||Dean Barker SoftBank Japan||0||vs||0||Eric Monnin Team SailBox|
|M24||Ian Williams GAC Pindar||0||vs||0||Johnie Berntsson Stena Sailing Team|
|Qualifying Round - GROUP 1 - Flight 4 View all results|
|M26||Blythe Walker Team RenRE||0||vs||0||Chris Poole Riptide Racing|
|M27||Eric Monnin Team SailBox||0||vs||0||Phil Robertson WAKA Racing|
|M29||Dean Barker SoftBank Japan||0||vs||0||Johnie Berntsson Stena Sailing Team|
|M31||Ian Williams GAC Pindar||0||vs||0||Joachim Aschenbrenner Aschenbrenner Racing Team|
|Qualifying Round - GROUP 1 - Flight 5 View all results|
|M34||Blythe Walker Team RenRE||0||vs||0||Dean Barker SoftBank Japan|
|M35||Eric Monnin Team SailBox||0||vs||0||Ian Williams GAC Pindar|
|M37||Joachim Aschenbrenner Aschenbrenner Racing Team||0||vs||0||Johnie Berntsson Stena Sailing Team|
|M39||Chris Poole Riptide Racing||0||vs||0||Phil Robertson WAKA Racing|
|Qualifying Round - GROUP 1 - Flight 6 View all results|
|M42||Eric Monnin Team SailBox||0||vs||0||Johnie Berntsson Stena Sailing Team|
|M43||Blythe Walker Team RenRE||0||vs||0||Joachim Aschenbrenner Aschenbrenner Racing Team|
|M46||Chris Poole Riptide Racing||0||vs||0||Ian Williams GAC Pindar|
|M48||Dean Barker SoftBank Japan||0||vs||0||Phil Robertson WAKA Racing|
|Qualifying Round - GROUP 1 - Flight 7 View all results|
|M50||Chris Poole Riptide Racing||0||vs||0||Johnie Berntsson Stena Sailing Team|
|M52||Dean Barker SoftBank Japan||0||vs||0||Ian Williams GAC Pindar|
|M53||Blythe Walker Team RenRE||0||vs||0||Eric Monnin Team SailBox|
|M56||Joachim Aschenbrenner Aschenbrenner Racing Team||0||vs||0||Phil Robertson WAKA Racing|
Pre Start action between Williams and Hansen © Robert Hajduk / AWMRT
London, UK (14th Nov 2014): The discipline of Match Racing is considered the most combative and strategic form of sailing. With just two boats pit against each other on the race course in identical boats, match racing is about the pure skill of the skipper and the agile performance of his or her team. The ability to make quick decisions and outwit your opponent - every move counts.
All rules decisions are made by on-water umpires selected by the International Sailing Federation (ISAF). This concept was developed by the match racing community and has been long used in the America’s Cup to provide instant decisions to the teams and avoid long protest hearings after racing.
Think it’s an easy job? In a new series of ‘You’re the Umpire!’, we take a look at some of the difficult calls the umpires have to make.
Would you make the same decisions?
2014 Dutch Match Cup - Williams vs Hansen
In this tense pre-start during Qualifying at the 2014 Dutch Match Cup, both Bjorn Hansen of Hansen Sailing Team and Ian Williams of GAC Pindar fight for position as the clock counts down to the start. In the final seconds before the start, Williams makes an arguably aggressive manoeuvre diving for a gap between Hansen and the committee boat resulting in a collision with both Hansen and the committee boat.
Who was in the right and who was in the wrong? And what decision did the Umpires make?
In the 4 minute pre-start, both teams fight for the upper hand crossing tacks and trying to move into the best position. Teamwork is key at this point to execute fast manoeuvres in the small pre-start area
Hansen (sailing boat 3) positions himself to leeward and in a right of way position over Williams (boat 5) to make it difficult for Williams to start close to the starting vessel
Williams turns towards the start line. He has no right to room between Hansen and the starting vessel because under the rules he cannot call for room when approaching the line to start
The questions here are whether there is room for Williams to fit in the gap between Hansen and the committee boat. And if Hansen subsequently heads up and 'shuts the door’ on Williams, has Williams been given the opportunity to go somewhere other than into the rapidly closing gap. Hansen, as the [leeward] right of way boat, is obliged under rule 16 to give room to the other boat to keep clear as he changes course.
At this point the Umpires have a number of options they can take;
Call 1: If there is room for Williams between Hansen and the committee boat, and Hansen simply ‘shuts the door’ without giving Williams any room to keep clear - Penalty to Hansen for breaking rule 16.
Call 2: If there is room for Williams between Hansen and the committee boat, and Williams had the room to dip behind Hansen’s stern or tack out to the right of the committee boat as the gap closed but chose not to, then Penalty to Williams for not keeping clear of Hansen.
Call 3: If there is no room for Williams no matter what Hansen’s actions then Penalty to Williams for not keeping clear.
Call 4: If you give the penalty to Williams and decide he gained an advantage compared to where he would have ended up if he’d bailed out, then hand him a second 'umpire initiated’ Penalty.
The Final Umpires Decision:
The umpires decided that Williams was in the wrong and he received two penalties, one for not keeping clear of Hansen, and one for gaining an advantage through breaking a rule.
Would you have made the same decision?
Share your comments on our Facebook post here