World Match Racing Tour.

ISAF Special Event

Posted: 17.08.2015 - 14:52:45 (GMT)
Category: News
Swedish Match 40’s in action at the Oakcliff International

Swedish Match 40’s in action at the Oakcliff International

London, UK (17th August 2015): The ISAF sanctioned World Match Racing Tour (WMRT) is pleased to announce the addition of three new ‘World Tour’ events to the 22 event world championship schedule for 2015/16. The Oakcliff International, Chicago Match Cup Grand Slam and Detroit Cup join the previously announced Knickerbocker Cup in New York, and the World Championship Congressional Cup event to include five U.S. events now on the Tour schedule.

The Oakcliff International 2015 (13-16 Aug), run by Oakcliff Sailing located in Oyster Bay, New York. Founded in 2010, Oakcliff is run by Dawn Riley, a prominent professional sailor having competed in four America’s Cups and two Whitbread (now Volvo Ocean race) campaigns.

"We are honored to become part of the WMRT.  Our mission is to send sailors up the ranks to the very top level of competitions like the Tour.  The connection makes so much sense’ said Riley.

Oakcliff owns and manages a fleet of one design Swedish Match 40’s which they use to run the annual Oakcliff International match race, as well as match racing clinics and events throughout the year.


Completed over the weekend, the Oakcliff International was won by Matt Jerwood (AUS) and his Redline Racing team beating Tour Card Holder Eric Monnin’s (SUI) Team SailBox in the Final. Jerwood retains his 7th place on the WMRT leaderboard inching closer to a podium place.

The Chicago Match Cup Grand Slam (21-23 Aug) is hosted by the equally successful Chicago Match Race Centre, the brainchild of Chicago businessman and keen match racer Don Wilson. Sailed in identical Tom 28 boats, the Chicago Match Cup is staged in front of the impressive Chicago City skyline, famous for its windy conditions.

In late August, the Detroit Cup (27-30 Aug) will feature its 8th edition run by the Bayview Yacht Club, close to the city on the 65km long Lake St Clair. The event is sailed in Ultimate 20-type boats.

Together with the Knickerbocker Cup, the four U.S. events form the USA Match Racing Grand Slam Series, the winner of which will receive an invitation to the World Championship event, the Congressional Cup, which this year celebrated its 51st edition.

James Pleasance, Executive Director of WMRT added “We are delighted to broaden the World Tour schedule in the USA, now with 5 events as part of the 2015 schedule including the World Championship Congressional Cup event in Long Beach. There are many talented match racing sailors in the U.S. and I hope by adding these events to the World Tour, it will provide an extra incentive for them to take part in more World Tour events.”

For more information, please visit

Oakcliff International -
Chicago Match Cup Grand Slam -
Detroit Cup -
Knickerbocker Cup -



Go to the Image Gallery