World Match Racing Tour.

ISAF Special Event

Jeremy Koo Remains at the Top

Share this article:
14.05.2012 - 07:54:46 (GMT)
This article has 0 comments
Jeremy Koo, Fauzi Mustaffa, Hakimi Shah, Sean Ong and Shahrizal Hashim celebrate winning the MMRC Stage One - Lumut, Perak www.別れさせ屋口コミ.com

Jeremy Koo, Fauzi Mustaffa, Hakimi Shah, Sean Ong and Shahrizal Hashim celebrate winning the MMRC Stage One - Lumut, Perak www.別れさせ屋口コミ.com

Lumut, Perak - 14 May 2012: Jeremy Koo emerged winner of the Malaysian Match Racing Circuit (MMRC) Stage One – Lumut, Perak held at the Royal Malaysian Naval Base in Teluk Muroh, Lumut, Perak. Following a dramatic race to the finish, Jeremy emerged victorious and won the challenge trophy of Stage One presented by Transport Minster YB Dato’ Seri Kong Cho Ha at the prize giving ceremony.

“I would like to thank my crew for excellent handling of the boat. We were under tremendous pressure today. Hazwan and his team put up a good fight right till the end and were strong contenders. We can definitely expect tough competition from them in the next stage” said Jeremy.

The semi-finals were a toughly fought battle with Jeremy Koo (Koo Racing Team) having a one-point lead over Hairsfabillah Muhammad (Royal Malaysian Navy Match Racing Team 2) at the beginning of the day. But Hairsfabillah Muhammad returned the favour, and both teams were point to point, forcing Koo to up his game in the five-match race. Koo finally won the last match bringing his total score to 3 points, and a chance to race at the finals.

Meanwhile Hazwan Hazim Dermawan (Permai Hotel Match Racing Team) tried to take back his lead after losing to Masyuri Rahmat (Royal Malaysian Navy Match Racing Team 1) in the first round of the semi-finals. Masyuri Rahmat was on fire, winning yet another match before losing to Hazwan in the next two matches. It all came down to the final match that saw Hazwan controlling the pre-starts and building a lead thru out the race. Hazwan finally beat Masyuri by 44 seconds to qualify for the final.

Running out of time, the Race Committee decided that the final and petit-finals will be in sudden death format, where the first to score a point wins.  Teams came in for a quick boat draw and went out to determine the champion of the first stage of the Malaysian Match Racing Circuit.

Harisfabillah and Masyuri sailed in the petit finals. Although the underdog, Harisfabillah proved to be a tough challenge for Masyuri but Harisfabillah had speed and read the winds and currents better going upwind. In the end, experience won over skills and Masyuri won, claiming third place and the prize money of RM 2,000.

The final was a familiar scene with Jeremy up against Hazwan. Two of the highest ranked skippers in Malaysia were up against each other to score the one win that was needed to take the championship. Hazwan had a good lead against Jeremy for most of the race and managed to keep his cool, however he had picked up a penalty in the pre-start but managed to flick it off at the top mark. Jeremy took this opportunity to pick up lead against Hazwan and it all came down right to the finish line where Jeremy forced a penalty against Hazwan and in the end, Jeremy won, bagging the RM8,000 prize money.

“Overall I’m happy with the way the team has sailed. We probably sailed our best as a team at this event and this is only the beginning of the season” said Hazwan Hazim Dermawan, skipper of Permai Hotel Match Racing Team who walks away with RM5,000.

The Malaysian Match Racing Circuit, which is endorsed by the International Sailing Federation (ISAF), Alpari World Match Racing Tour (AWMRT) and Malaysian Yachting Association (MYA) will see three events in the 2012 season, beginning with Stage One in Lumut, Perak on 11-13 May, Stage Two in Pulau Indah, Selangor on 29 Jun – 1 July and the Final Stage in Pulau Duyong, Terengganu on 20-23 September 2012.

The one team with the highest points collected over three events will be declared the Champion of the MMRC and will get the opportunity to represent Malaysia in the season ending finale of the AWMRT, the Monsoon Cup in Terengganu on 3-8 December 2012.

Final Standings and Points Scoring





Jeremy Koo (Koo Racing Team)



Hazwan Hazim Dermawan (Permai Hotel Match Racing Team)



Masyuri Rahmat (Royal Malaysian Navy Match Racing Team 1)



Harisfabillah Muhammad ((Royal Malaysian Navy Match Racing Team 3)



Nurul Ain Md.Isa (Ri-Yaz Heritage Sailing Team)



Nik Ahsraf Thaqid (Royal Malaysian Navy Match Racing Team 3)



Rizal Mahadi (SetiaWest Marine)